Board of Directors and Staff

The organization is governed by a dedicated Board of Directors who are committed to the organization’s mission.  The Board provides guidance and support to the professional staff as well as promotes the organization to funders, volunteers and the public.

Board of Directors and Staff ImagePresident Emerita
Nancy Y. Cohen

Janis Smith, Montgomery County Public Schools

Vice President
Sheila Mason Henry, Otsuka Pharmaceutical, Inc.

Michael Smith, PNC Wealth Management

Assistant Treasurer
Johnnie Mae Armstrong

Timothy S. Kitt, Freddie Mac

Board of Directors

Sunita Benson-Agwu, PEPCO
Garth Bastian, The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company
Michael Jaquith, M&T Bank
​Peter Kimbis, Independent Nonprofit Consultant
Napatr Meer
Ali Munzipapa, CohnReznick LLP
Alexis Peters, Shulman Rogers
John Pierce, Themis PLLC
Audralina Sherman, Mo.Co. Coalition for the Homeless


Tat-Lin Angus, Exelon
Carmela Boncore-Singer
Rosemary Dircks
Lynne Ladarola, RA, Archeus Studio
Senator Laurence Levitan, Esq.
Edward L. Lublin, Blank Rome LLP
Brian M. McLaughlin, Bank of America
Rita Mhley, Mhley/Davis & Associates, Inc.
John R. Orrick, Jr., Esq., Offit Kurman
Russell Phillips, CPA, CohnReznick LLP
Elias Rizkallah, Capital One Bank
Catherine F. Scott, Professor Emerita, Montgomery College
Lauren Spiro, M.A., National Coalition for Mental Health Recovery
Miriam Yarmolinsky, Peer Wellness & Recovery Services, Inc.

Corporate Affiliations are for Purposes of Identification Only


Chief Executive Officer
Abe M. Schuchman, Esq.

Chief Operating Officer
Aaron Fenster

Director of Property Development
Lisa Y. Cook

Director of Office Operations
Rebecca Meade

Director of Property Management
Tiffany Lamin

Property Managers
Jerry Clark
Lily Dunn
Trevor Stephens

Property Manager and Avodah Corps Member
Dalia Paris-Saper

Program Associates
Nina Blecher
Dasun Chamara
Bianca Fryer
Ian Jackson   
Stephanie Joseph
Deborah Kellermann                                                                                                               
Diane Nowak
Adam Pinchuck
Reginald Rainard
Daisy Thompson